Furukawa Electric Innovation history

since 1884

古河集团的创始人古河市兵卫先生出于“让日本变得更加美好”的信念,曾始终向着全新的日本制造迈进。

我们继承了市兵卫先生的信念,肩负着重大的使命感,希望“让世界变得更加美好”。

今后,古河电工集团将通过持续不断的技术革新,继续为本集团公司提出的“实现可持续发展的社会”的理念做出贡献。

  1. 1884
  2. 1900
  3. 1960
  4. 2000
  1. 创业初始期
  2. 为日本的社会基础设施建设做贡献
  3. 进军海外
  4. 加速全球拓展

1884~ 创业初始期

本公司的起源,可追溯到1884年由古河市兵卫先生在东京的本所创始的铜精炼业务和同一时期在横滨的高岛町由山田电线制造所创始的电线生产业务。

古河集团的创始人古河市兵卫先生于1832年生于京都,凭借其与生俱来的商业才能,在当时的大资本商小野组担当重任。1877年,市兵卫先生接手了足尾铜山的经营工作。在跨越多次危机之后,终于使足尾铜山发展成为日本第一大铜山。

本公司的企业徽章“山一”标志也是在这一年制定的,代表本公司“专注于矿业”(专注于矿山行业)。

此后,本公司于1890年建设了日本第一家真正的水力发电站等,引进欧美的最新技术,拓展事业内容,构筑起了古河集团的基础。

开设本所熔铜所、山田电线制造所

开始日本最早的电积铜试验作业

开始生产电力铜线

开设本所熔铜所、山田电线制造所

古河市兵卫先生克服重重困难,使足尾铜山获得了成功。他为了改善产出的粗铜质地不均匀的问题,于1884年决定在本所的深川地区成立熔铜所。同一时期,在横滨研究橡胶覆膜电线的生产方法的发明家山田与一在横滨高岛町成立了电线生产工厂。

本公司将这2项事业的起始之年定为创业之年。

开始生产电力铜线

这一时期,在明治政府提出的电话事业扩张计划的推动下,不断推出长距离通信线路铺设计划,除了电灯电线之外,对通信电线的需求也出现了增加。

本公司率先在本所熔铜所着手电力铜线的生产工作,成立了当时最先进的铜线生产工厂。由于产品质量好,本所熔铜所的铜线生产数量顺利增加,为明治初期日本的社会基础设施建设做出了巨大的贡献。

1900~ 为日本的社会基础设施建设做贡献

为了满足当时日本国内尚未成熟的电力及通信需求,本公司扩大了橡胶电线及纱包线等的生产规模,在1915年生产出了日本最早的国产海底电缆。此后,还在当时最高的电波塔东京塔上设置天线等,以全球顶级的技术实力为日本的社会基础设施建设提供了支持。

另一方面,本公司从1911年开始开展铅蓄电池的研发工作,于1917年成立了横滨护膜制造(现在的横滨橡胶)公司,于1923年成立了富士电机制造(现在的富士电机)公司,于1959年成立了古河铝业(现在的UACJ)等,从早期就开始致力于事业的多元化发展。

生产日本最早的海底电缆

在对马海峡铺设全球最早的无负载搬运海底电缆

在东京塔上设置天线及供电线路

生产日本最早的海底电缆

海底电线生产对耐久性的要求非常高,当时的技术人员们都将生产这种电线定为远大目标。那时,只有欧洲的电线生产公司能够生产海底电线。由于欧洲战乱不断,无法再依靠进口,因此就要实现国产化。

本公司经过反复试验,终于在日本首次成功生产出了海底通信用电线,并铺设在备赞海峡的8海里范围内。此后,还生产并铺设了日本到中国大陆之间的通信用海底电线等,在日本国内外积累了众多的生产及应用成果。

在东京塔上设置天线及供电线路

东京塔的建成正式拉开了电视播放时代的帷幕。日本经过战后复兴,依靠昭和30年代(1955年-1964年)的高度经济增长期取得了快速的发展。

1964 年,东京奥运会召开,人们被电视上播放的各种信息感染,充满活力,生活也因而变得更加丰富多彩,推进了现代化的发展。现在,东京塔的天线依然挺立,在本公司的广播电视相关事业的项目中留下了非常有意义的印记。

此后建成的天空树天线,也运用了本公司的技术。

1960~ 进军海外

为了在全球各地发挥本公司的技术实力,我们从这一时期就开始正式向全球市场发起了挑战。在中东及东南亚等地不断积累成绩,同时在东南亚乃至遥远的巴西都建设了生产工厂,为今天的全球化打下了基础。

此外,本公司于1987年在横滨新建了研究所,不断创造出引领全球的各种新技术和新商品。

研发全自动高精度六辊轧机

建设泰国曼谷市内的通信网

成功实施全球首个光缆现场试验

在巴西成立铝制电缆生产销售公司

在伊朗完成大型输电线工程

领先全球首次实现光纤复合OF电缆的实用化

研发全自动高精度六辊轧机

当时,在横跨太平洋的海底电话线路同轴电缆的遮蔽材料中,大量使用了本公司的铜条。该铜条需要具有较高的板厚精度,并且还是当时令人惊异的长尺寸产品。本公司为了完善该遮蔽材料的供应体制,自行设计并生产了具有超高精度的轧机,顺利地完成了交货任务。

此后,于1964年生产出了“全自动高精度六辊轧机”这一具有划时代意义的轧机。该轧机结构简单,但却拥有可与二十辊轧机相媲美的性能,并且实现了完全自动运行。该轧机凭借其优秀的性能获得了学会的高度评价,荣获1940年的日本机械学会奖。

现在,该全自动高精度六辊轧机仍在运转,其生产的铜条产品用于高级腕表的核心部位等,是必不可少的精密零部件。

建设泰国曼谷市内的通信网

当时,曼谷市内的通信线路增建计划在泰国被列为社会基础设施中最重要的基础。1968年,本公司在众多具有国际竞争力的对手中脱颖而出,成功地获得了由泰国国家电话公社提出的电话增建计划的订单。

工程范围包括在曼谷市内建设21个基站、12.25万个终端的市内电话网,是通信电缆出口历史上最大的项目。本公司按计划在27个月的工期内完成了这个大型项目,证明了本公司的技术实力能通用于全球。

本公司通过此次成功,培养了在海外项目方面的经验技巧,对此后的全球拓展起到了推动作用。

成功实施全球首个光缆现场试验

光通信系统将电气信号转换成强弱不同的光,通过细小的玻璃纤维进行传输。本公司在光纤事业创建初期,即领先全球,在光缆的现场试验中取得了成功。

现在,除光缆之外,本公司还相继研发出了长距离通信必不可少的光纤放大器激发用激光器、扩大通信容量时所需的数字相干光用ITLA等,以先进的技术为高速大容量通信提供了支持。

在伊朗完成大型输电线工程

本公司最大的海外项目是从伊朗国家发电输电公司接到的大型输电线工程订单。从1978年签约到1982年完工,经历了伊朗政治体制革命、两伊战争等动荡时期。此外,在工程区内,还必须跨越水田地带、森林地带、砂漠地带以及由德黑兰北侧高达4000m的高山连绵而成的厄尔布尔士山脉。可以说该项目是克服了无数的困难和考验才最终完成的一个大项目。

并且,与相关的工程合作公司团结一致,克服了严苛的环境条件,最终完成了总长449km的输电线工程。

2000~ 加速全球拓展

东西方冷战结束后,自由贸易区不断扩大,世界经济的全球化发展得到了急速推进。在这一背景下,本公司也大大加快了全球发展的步伐。2001年,本公司收购了美国朗讯科技公司的光缆部门,在光纤市场中一举跻身全球顶级企业的行列。

此外,全球最大规模的欧洲巨型加速器项目也采用了本公司研发的最高质量的超导线材,可见本公司的技术研发实力受到了全球的关注。

收购美国朗讯科技公司的光缆部门

超导线材荣获欧洲核子研究组织颁发的特别奖

参加“浮体式海上风力发电站实证研究项目”

研发使用了荧光硅纳米颗粒的高灵敏度免疫色谱检测试剂盒

成功研发出导电率达到全球顶级水平的碳纳米管

在缅甸设立当地法人,开展以通信工程为中心的解决方案事业

收购美国朗讯科技公司的光缆部门

原美国朗讯科技公司的光缆部门“OFS”起源于曾经的“贝尔实验室”,拥有各种与光纤、光连接器等有关的全球最先进的技术和丰富的专利。

本公司于2001年收购了该公司的“OFS”部门,成功地在光纤领域跻身世界顶级企业行列。

“OFS”作为本公司的光纤全球战略的重要基地,有望在今后取得巨大的发展。

超导线材荣获欧洲核子研究组织颁发的特别奖

本公司多年来坚持研发的超导技术在这一年结出了丰硕的果实。

CERN(欧洲核子研究组织)大型强子对撞机(LHC)核心部位采用了本公司生产的专用超导线材。表明本公司确立了拥有全球最好的电气特性及机械特性的均质性能的铌钛成型绞线量产技术。本公司于2003年获得了CERN颁发的金强子奖。

该研究机构的成果为后来发现“希格斯粒子”提供了帮助,本公司的超导技术为现代物理学做出了巨大贡献。

参加“浮体式海上风力发电站实证研究项目”

2011年发生了东日本大地震。这次地震后,妥善应对自然威胁的准备工作及能源问题再次摆在了人们面前。为开展本次大地震的重建事业,启动了浮体式海上风力发电站实证研究项目。这是一项规模庞大的实证研究项目,要在福岛县的海面上设置多个浮体式风力发电设备与变电站。

本公司于2012年参加该实证研究项目,承担将来自于浮体式海上风力发电站的电力及控制信号传送到陆地的输电系统建设工作。浮体式风力发电容易受波浪及海潮的影响,这就要求海底电力电缆也能够承受这种严苛的环境考验。

为应对这一考验,本公司研发了漂浮式海底电力电缆“特高压吊装电缆”,并于2013年成功地实现了浮体式风力发电设备与变电站的连接,这在全球尚属首例。

研发使用了荧光硅纳米颗粒的高灵敏度免疫色谱检测试剂盒

本公司成功研发出了荧光硅纳米颗粒。该颗粒采用的结构为:在纳米尺寸的二氧化硅颗粒的内部稳定地固定荧光色素,并在表面配置拥有可与蛋白质等结合的功能基,其特点在于可广泛应用于生命科学中。

本公司将该颗粒应用于体外检测试剂荧光免疫色谱技术中,研发出了可依靠高灵敏度检测出棘阿米巴(导致眼感染症的微生物之一)的全球最早简易快速检测法。

此外,还于2015年将荧光硅纳米颗粒应用于细菌性食物中毒菌弯曲杆菌的新检测试剂的研发中。与以往的检测试剂相比,大幅缩短了检测时间,还实现了高精度化。

成功研发出导电率达到全球顶级水平的碳纳米管

碳纳米管具有优异的特性,重量仅为铜的1/5,但强度可达钢铁的20倍,电流密度可达铜的1,000倍。这一年,本公司与信州大学合作,成功地研发出了导电率达到全球顶级水平的碳纳米管导体。

今后,本公司仍将发挥碳纳米管所拥有的高强度、超轻量、环境耐受特性优异等特点,致力于电线的轻量化及低损耗化工作,为实现节能型社会做出贡献。

在缅甸设立当地法人,开展以通信工程为中心的解决方案事业

缅甸在2010年民政接管后,国际经济制裁措施逐步放缓,各种基础设施的建设正在急速推进当中。

古河电工在缅甸设立了当地法人,开展以通信工程为中心的解决方案事业。在于2016年5月举办的开业仪式上,本公司的取缔役会长吉田政雄先生发表了讲话。他说:“今天,能够举办古河电工集团在缅甸的第一个基地——FSSM公司的开业仪式,我感到很荣幸。我强烈地希望可以通过我们超高的工程技术能力和迅速的服务,为缅甸联邦共和国的经济与社会的进一步发展做出贡献。”

在缅甸举办开业仪式时的情景

Furukawa Electric Innovation history

since 1884

The Furukawa Group's founder, Ichibei Furukawa, worked to build a new Japan with the aim of "making Japan brighter."

Having inherited Ichibei's idea, we have a great sense of mission to "make the world brighter."

Going forward, the Furukawa Electric Group will, as pledged in our corporate philosophy,
"contribute to the realization of a sustainable society" through continuous technological innovation.

  1. 1884
  2. 1900
  3. 1960
  4. 2000
  1. Foundation & Dawning of a New Era
  2. Helping to Establish Japan's Social Infrastructure
  3. Expanding Overseas
  4. Speeding up Global Development

1884~ Foundation & Dawning of a New Era

The origins of our company can be traced back to 1884, when Ichibei Furukawa first smelted copper in Honjo, Tokyo and Yamada Cable Works began manufacturing electrical cables in Takashima-cho, Yokohama.

The Furukawa Group's founder, Ichibei Furukawa, was born in Kyoto in 1832 and, showing a natural flair for business, became an executive of the Ono-gumi, a wealthy merchant house at that time. In 1877, he took over the operation of the Ashio Copper Mine. After overcoming a number of crises, he developed it into Japan's largest copper mine.

Our corporate logo, the Yamaichi mark, was established that year to represent the idea of specializing exclusively in mining.

He later installed some of the latest Western technologies, such as Japan's first full-scale hydroelectric power plant in 1890, and expanded operations on his way to building the foundations of the Furukawa Group.

Opened Honjo Copper Smeltery and Yamada Cable Works

Started Japan's first electrodeposit copper trial operations

Started manufacturing electric copper wires

Opened Honjo Copper Smeltery and Yamada Cable Works

Ichibei Furukawa overcame various difficulties at the Ashio Copper Mine before achieving success, and in 1884 decided to set up a copper smeltery at Fukagawa, Honjo to improve the uneven quality of crude copper. Around the same time, inventor Yoichi Yamada, who had developed a method of manufacturing rubber-covered wires, established a wire manufacturing plant at Takashima-cho, Yokohama.

This is the founding year of our company, which grew from these two business origins.

Started manufacturing electric copper wires

During this period, there were a series of plans for laying long distance communications cables due to the Meiji government's telephone expansion program, resulting in growing demand for not only electric lighting and power lines but also communications cables.

The company started to manufacture electric copper wire early on at its Honjo Copper Smeltery, setting up what was then a state-of-the-art copper wire manufacturing facility. Production at this copper wire plant grew smoothly due to its high quality, contributing greatly to the upgrade of Japan's social infrastructure at the dawn of the Meiji era.

1900~ Helping to Establish Japan's Social Infrastructure

Catering to demand for electricity and communications in the then undeveloped Japan, Furukawa Electric expanded production to include various rubber and cotton-covered wires, and in 1915 manufactured the nation's first submarine electric cable. The company continued to support the establishment of Japan's social infrastructure with its global quality technical capacity, such as by installing an antenna on Tokyo Tower, the country's largest radio tower at the time.

On the other hand, the company has diversified its business since early on, launching its R&D of lead-acid batteries in 1911 and establishing the Yokohama Rubber Company in 1917, Fuji Electric Manufacturing (now Fuji Electric) in 1923 and Furukawa Aluminium (now UACJ Corporation) in 1959.

Manufactured Japan's first submarine electric cable

Laid the world's first non-loaded carrier submarine cable in the Tsushima Strait

Installed an antenna and feed line on Tokyo Tower

Manufactured Japan's first submarine electric cable

A major goal of the engineers at that time was to produce submarine cables, which require an extreme level of durability. The only companies that could manufacture submarine cables in those days were European electrical wire manufacturers, but import goods became scarce due to a series of wars and so domestic production became necessary.

Furukawa Electric succeeded, through trial and error, in producing Japan's first submarine communications cables, and laid eight nautical miles of it in the Bisan Strait. It went on to build up a strong track record both in Japan and abroad, including manufacturing and installing submarine communications cables to China.

Installed an antenna and feed line on Tokyo Tower

The construction of Tokyo Tower marked the start of the era of full-scale television broadcasting. For Japan, still undergoing post-war reconstruction, it was a time of successful development due to the rapid economic growth of the late 1950s and early 1960s.

The Tokyo Olympics in 1964 accelerated modernization, as people buzzed with news from the television and their lives became richer than ever before. Tokyo Tower's antenna still towers majestically over its surroundings today, a significant mark on the cityscape left by Furukawa Electric's broadcasting-related project.

Years later, our technologies were also utilized in the Tokyo Skytree antenna.

1960~ Expanding Overseas

From this period, Furukawa Electric launched its full-scale efforts to enter the global market with the hope of spreading its technical strength around the world. While building up a track record in the Middle East, Southeast Asia, and elsewhere, it established manufacturing plants from Southeast Asia all the way to Brazil, laying the foundations for today's globalization.

In 1987, it built a new research laboratory in Yokohama, which has created all sorts of world-leading technologies and products.

Developed a fully automatic high-precision six-high rolling mill

Installed a communications network in Bangkok, Thailand

World's first successful field trial of optical fiber cable

Established company in Brazil manufacturing and selling aluminum power cables

Completed large-scale power transmission line installation in Iran

World's first successful practical application of optical fiber composite oil-filled cables

Developed a fully automatic high-precision six-high rolling mill

In those days, the covering material for the submarine telephone line and coaxial cable spanning the Pacific Ocean was mostly brass produced by Furukawa Electric. This brass required a high level of thickness accuracy and was, for the day, an incredibly long product. In order to ensure a supply system of this covering material, Furukawa Electric designed and made its own ultrahigh precision rolling mills, fulfilling its responsibilities without incident.

Later, in 1964, the company built a revolutionary new rolling machine called a fully automatic high-precision six-high rolling mill. In spite of its simple construction, it performed as well as a 20-high rolling mill, while also making fully automatic operation a reality. The superiority of this rolling machine was recognized in academic circles too, and it received the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers prize in 1965.

This fully automatic high-precision six-high rolling mill is still in operation today, and its copper strip products are used for vital precision parts, such as in the inner workings of luxury watches.

Installed a communications network in Bangkok, Thailand

At the time, the top priority social infrastructure program in Thailand was telecommunications network expansion in the metropolitan region of Bangkok. In 1968, a plan was set out by Telephone Organization of Thailand operator to upgrade the telephone network in the metropolitan region of Bangkok. Furukawa Electric won the order for the project despite competition from leading companies around the world.

The project involved installing 21 telephone exchanges and 122,500 terminals throughout the city of Bangkok and was the largest project in the history of telecommunications cable exports. Furukawa Electric completed this major project in 27 months, as per schedule, proving that our technical strength was valid worldwide.

Due to this success, we also accumulated know-how in relation to overseas projects, which has since led to further development of our global business.

World's first successful field trial of optical fiber cable

This is a system of converting electrical signals into strong and weak light, which is then conveyed along thin glass fibers. Back in the pioneer days of optical fiber, Furukawa Electric carried out the world's first successful field trial of an optical fiber cable.

Since then, Furukawa Electric has supported high-speed large-capacity communications with its advanced technologies, having developed a series of technologies in addition to optical fiber cables, such as excitation lasers, vital for long distance communications, and ITLA for optical digital coherence, necessary for expanding communication capacity.

Completed large-scale power transmission line installation in Iran

The biggest overseas project Furukawa Electric has taken on was a large order we received from the Iran organization for electric power affairs for the installation of power transmission lines. This was a truly massive project. During the four years from signing the contract in 1978 to completing the work in 1982, we overcame numerous difficulties and trials, including Iran's political revolution and the chaos brought about by the Iran-Iraq War. Moreover, the route for installation traversed paddy field zones, forest zones and desert zones, and we had to cross the Alborz Mountains to the north of Tehran, which include a series of peaks more than 4,000m high.

Working as a team with the other project subcontractors, we finally managed to complete the installation of a total of 449km of power transmission lines despite the harsh environmental conditions.

2000~ Speeding up Global Development

The expansion of free trade areas after the end of the Cold War accelerated the globalization of the world economy, which greatly sped up Furukawa Electric's global development too. In 2001, it bought out the optical fiber solution business of Lucent Technologies in the US, jumping straight into the group of global leaders in the optical fiber market.

Global attention is on Furukawa Electric's capacity for technological development, such as its superconducting wire materials used in the European LHC particle accelerator project, the largest in the world.

Bought out the optical fiber division of Lucent Technologies in the US

Received the Golden Hadron Award from CERN for superconducting wire materials

Participated in the Floating Offshore Wind Farm Demonstration Project

Developed a high-sensitivity immunochromatographic test kit using fluorescent silica nanoparticles

Successful development of carbon nanotubes with the highest electroconductivity in the world

Established local subsidiary in Myanmar to provide solutions focusing on communication construction

Bought out the optical fiber division of Lucent Technologies in the US

OFS was the optical fiber solution division of the former Lucent Technologies in the US, itself originally evolved from Bell Laboratories. It has world-beating technologies and an abundance of patents related to different kinds of optical fibers, optical connectors, etc.

Furukawa Electric acquired OFS in 2001 to join the world's leading group of optical fiber corporations.

OFS is an important site in our optical fiber global strategy, and we have high hopes for its continued growth in the future.

Received the Golden Hadron Award from CERN for superconducting wire materials

This was the year when the superconductivity technologies developed over many years by Furukawa Electric truly blossomed.

Our superconducting materials were supplied to CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research) for use in the very heart of its Large Hadron Collider (LHC). Furukawa Electric was permitted to start mass producing molded niobium-titanium twisted wire, which has the most uniform electrical and mechanical characteristics in the world, and in 2003 received the Golden Hadron Award from CERN.

Furukawa Electric's superconductor technologies have made a huge contribution to modern physics, such as CERN's research results later leading to the discovery of the Higgs boson.

Participated in the Floating Offshore Wind Farm Demonstration Project

The Great East Japan Earthquake struck in 2011. The aftermath brought about fresh calls for stronger preparations against the threat of nature and a better response to the energy problem. Launched as part of the post-disaster reconstruction efforts, the Floating Offshore Wind Farm Demonstration Project in Fukushima is a colossal experimental research program to install multiple floating wind turbines in the sea and substations on land.

Furukawa Electric participated in this experiment in 2012, and was in charge of constructing the transmission system sending electrical power and control signals from the floating wind turbines to the shore. Floating wind turbines are constantly buffeted by waves and tides, and their submarine power cables also need to be able to withstand this harsh environment.

Furukawa Electric’s answer was to develop special high-voltage riser cables that float in the sea, and in 2013, for the first time in the world, we succeeded in connecting floating wind turbines to land substations.

Developed a high-sensitivity immunochromatographic test kit using fluorescent silica nanoparticles

Fluorescent silica nanoparticles successfully developed by Furukawa Electric consist of a fluorescent dye stably fixed inside nano-sized silica particles, and functional groups with connectivity with protein, etc. placed on the particles' surface. Their forte is their broad usage in the life sciences.

By applying this to fluorescent immunochromatographic technology for extracorporeal diagnosis, we have developed the world's first simple and quick test enabling the high-sensitivity detection of Acanthamoeba, a form of bacteria that contributes to eye infection.

In 2015, we also applied fluorescent silica nanoparticles in a new test agent for Campylobacter, a bacteria that causes food poisoning, greatly reducing testing times and increasing test sensitivity.

Successful development of carbon nanotubes with the highest electroconductivity in the world

Carbon nanotubes have excellent properties – one-fifth the weight of copper, 20 times the strength of steel, and 1,000 times the current density of copper. In 2015, Furukawa Electric, in collaboration with Shinshu University, succeeded in developing a carbon nanotube conductor with the highest electroconductivity in the world.

Going forward, Furukawa Electric will utilize carbon nanotubes' high strength, ultra-light weight, and environmental resistance to work on making electric wires lighter and lower-loss, thereby contributing to the realization of an energy-saving society.

Established local subsidiary in Myanmar to provide solutions focusing on communication construction

As international economic sanctions placed on Myanmar have eased since the nation transitioned from military rule to democratic government in 2010, Myanmar is carrying out various infrastructure development rapidly.

Furukawa Electric Co., Ltd. established local subsidiary in Myanmar to provide solutions focusing on communication construction. At the opening ceremony held in May 2016, Masao Yoshida, Chairman of the Board of Furukawa Electric, stated, "I am truly honored today to celebrate the grand opening of FSSM, the first Myanmar base in the Furukawa Electric Group. I hope that our advanced engineering technological strength and rapid service will help to bring the economy and society of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar to the next level."

Opening ceremony in Myanmar